菜单 关闭

男性乳腺癌需要同情心

作者:Marya Shegog,博士,公共卫生硕士,CHESLazarex癌症基金会健康公平和多样性协调员

我们都知道粉红丝带,它意味着什么,代表着什么,我敢打赌,我们中的许多人至少知道有一个人患有乳腺癌。粉红丝带是癌症教育、研究和试验历史上创造的最佳营销和宣传活动之一。据估计,每八名妇女中就有一名会在其一生中患上乳腺癌(BreastCancer.org,2021)。在乳腺癌筛查和治疗方面已经取得了巨大的进步,许多人都与围绕粉红丝带的对话联系在一起。

乳腺癌存在种族和民族差异,然而,最不为人所知的差异是与性别差异有关。预计在2021年新诊断的333,490个乳腺癌病例中,有2,650个病例,约占美国所有乳腺癌病例的1%,将发生在男性身上(BreastCancer.org,2021)。在美国,男性的终身风险是1/833(BreastCancer.org, 2021)。我不是在比较男性和女性患乳腺癌的风险和诊断,而是意识到男性可以而且被诊断为乳腺癌,当它发生时,乳腺癌治疗中的同情心往往被忽视。

101211625 S 858x423 1 E1616172773213

在我不久前进行的一项定性研究中,我有机会分析了许多来自男性乳腺癌幸存者的故事或由他们的护理人员讲述的故事。(The Male Breast Cancer Coalition , 2013)。这些故事揭示了治疗的不平衡性。男性乳腺癌联盟的创始人布雷特-米勒(Bret Miller)讲述了他的故事,在他被确诊前7年就发现了肿块。他的医生告诉他,这是 "钙质堆积......你正在成为一个男人......它会消失",但它从未消失。在他的叙述中,人们似乎对他这个被诊断出患有可怕疾病的年轻人缺乏同情心。当他最终被确诊时,没有人对他的诊断表示同情。他能够接受治疗,并通过男性乳腺癌联盟将他的生命奉献给了传播。  

男性被诊断出患有乳腺癌并不是一个新现象。山姆-里维拉,在1971年18岁时被诊断出患有乳腺癌,当时他是美国军队的一员。他不仅有增加患乳腺癌风险的遗传联系,后来他还发现他的祖父曾接受过乳腺癌治疗。他的故事,现在已经有近50年的历史,仍然揭示出围绕男性乳腺癌的理解并没有改善。

雷蒙德-约翰逊在26岁时在南卡罗来纳州被诊断出患有乳腺癌。如果这还不够可怕的话,当他为治疗寻求医疗支持时,他被反复告知,为了符合条件,他必须是一名女性,或者在接受乳腺癌的财政支持之前进行过额外的检查,如子宫颈抹片检查(Chan,2011)。他的性别甚至使他没有资格通过联邦乳腺癌和卵巢癌治疗计划获得支持。 幸运的是,他能够接受治疗并活着讲述他的故事,但并不是没有受到媒体的关注,用他自己的话说就是:"信仰、心灵和幽默"(约翰逊,2014)。

在分析了100多个关于男性乳腺癌的叙述后,最大的共同点是耻辱感。不得不接受乳房X光检查的男性报告说,他们被乳房X光检查机擦伤,在少数情况下,还被割伤,只是给他们粉红色的花冰袋,让他们放在 "胸罩"里。或者被朋友、家人和同事问道:"你是什么样的人?"仿佛他们选择了患乳腺癌。还有人说,男人被拒绝治疗,因为保险公司 "不支持变性",或者干脆从他们的保险中被剔除。这些故事不胜枚举,有些会让你哭,有些会让你笑,但每个故事都清楚地表明,男性,以及2021年预计将被诊断为乳腺癌的2650名男性中的许多人,将接受非人性化的治疗,鼓励羞耻和耻辱,而不是治愈和希望。

Marya Shegog博士的简历可以在这里找到。

引用的作品

BreastCancer.org.(2021年,2月4日)。美国乳腺癌统计。取自BreastCancer.org: https://www.breastcancer.org/symptoms/understand_bc/statistics

Chan, A. (2011, 10月 8).雷蒙德-约翰逊因乳腺癌被拒绝接受联邦援助,因为他是个男人。取自HUFFPost: https://www.huffpost.com/entry/raymond-johnson-breast-cancer-man_n_921016

Johnson, R. (2014, 2月).男性乳腺癌联盟 .取自幸存者故事:https://malebreastcancercoalition.org/Survivor%20Stories/raymond-johnson/

男性乳腺癌联盟。(2013).幸存者的故事 。取自男性乳腺癌联盟:https://malebreastcancercoalition.org/

Menu Close

Compassion Needed in Male Breast Cancer

By Marya Shegog, PhD, MPH, CHES: Health Equity and Diversity Coordinator, Lazarex Cancer Foundation

We all know the pink ribbon, what it means and stands for, and I am betting many of us know at least one person who has had breast cancer. The pink ribbon is one of the best marketing and awareness campaigns created in the history of cancer education, research and trials. It is estimated that one in eight women will develop breast cancer over the course of her lifetime (BreastCancer.org, 2021). There have been great strides in breast cancer screening and treatment, and many are tied to the conversation around the pink ribbon.

There are racial and ethnic disparities in breast cancer, however the one disparity that is least talked about is related to gender disparities. It is expected that out of the 333,490 newly diagnosed breast cancer cases in 2021 2,650, approximately 1% of all breast cancer cases in the U.S., will occur in men (BreastCancer.org, 2021). The lifetime risk for men in the U.S. is 1 in 833 (BreastCancer.org, 2021). I am not comparing the risk and diagnosis of breast cancer among men and women but realizing that men can and are diagnosed with breast cancer, and when it happens the compassion in breast cancer treatment is often ignored.

101211625 s 858x423 1 e1616172773213

In a qualitative study I conducted not too long ago I had the opportunity to analyze many stories from male Breast Cancer Survivors or stories told by their care givers. (The Male Breast Cancer Coalition , 2013). These stories shed a light on the imbalance of treatment. The founder of the Male Breast Cancer Coalition, Bret Miller tells his story where the lump was detected 7 years prior to him being diagnosed. He was told by his doctor that it was a “calcium build up… you’re becoming a man… it would go away” however it never did. Throughout his account there appears to be a lack of empathy for him as a young man diagnosed with a terrible disease. When he was finally diagnosed there was no compassion given to him about his diagnosis. He was able to receive treatment and has dedicated his life to spreading the word through the Male Breast Cancer Coalition.  

Men being diagnosed with breast cancer is not a new phenomenon. Sam Rivera, was diagnosed with breast cancer in 1971 at the age of 18 as a member of the U.S. military. Not only did he have genetic links that increased his risk of breast cancer, he would later find out that his grandfather had been treated for breast cancer. His story, which is now almost 50 years old, still reveals that the understanding around breast cancer among men has not improved.

Raymond Johnson was diagnosed with Breast Cancer at the age of 26 in South Carolina. If that is not scary enough, when seeking medical support for treatment, he was repeatedly told that in order to qualify he either had to be a woman or have had additional testing like a pap smear prior to receiving financial support for his breast cancer (Chan, 2011). His gender even made him ineligible to receive support through the federal Breast and Ovarian Cancer Treatment program.  Luckily, he was able to receive treatment and lived to tell his story, but not without significant media attention and in his own words; “Faith, Heart and Humor” (Johnson, 2014)

After analyzing more than 100 accounts of breast cancer among men the greatest commonality was stigma. Men who had to receive mammograms report being bruised and, in a few cases, cut by the mammogram machines only to be given pink flower ice packs to be placed in their “bras.” Or being asked by friend, family and colleagues “What kind of man are you?”  as if they opted to have breast cancer. There are accounts where men were denied treatment because the insurance companies “did not support sexual reassignment” or were simply dropped from their coverage. The stories are endless, and some will make you cry while others will make you laugh, but what is made clear by each story is that men, and many of the expected 2,650 men in 2021 who will be diagnosed with breast cancer will receive dehumanizing treatment that encourages shame and stigma instead of healing and hope.

Works Cited

BreastCancer.org. (2021, February 4). U.S. Breast Cancer Statistics. Retrieved from BreastCancer.org: https://www.breastcancer.org/symptoms/understand_bc/statistics

Chan, A. (2011, October 8). Raymond Johnson Denied Federal AID For Breast Cancer Because He’s a Man. Retrieved from HUFFPost: https://www.huffpost.com/entry/raymond-johnson-breast-cancer-man_n_921016

Johnson, R. (2014, February). The Male Breast Cancer Coalition . Retrieved from Survivor Stories : https://malebreastcancercoalition.org/Survivor%20Stories/raymond-johnson/

The Male Breast Cancer Coalition. (2013). Survivor Stories . Retrieved from The Male Breast Cancer Coalition : https://malebreastcancercoalition.org/