菜单 关闭

Lazarex癌症健康中心

Lazarex癌症健康中心

我们从CARE和IMPACT项目中了解到,有必要创建一个完全沉浸式的社区癌症项目,它是可复制的、可持续的和可负担的--产生了Lazarex癌症健康中心 的概念--我们认为这是我们在这个领域工作的 "心脏"。癌症健康中心是一个安全的空间,供社区成员讨论他们在癌症护理过程中的健康问题。 居民将有机会与HUB癌症护理同伴发展个人关系,以克服历史和文化障碍,获得更好的健康结果,并帮助他们在一个陌生的环境中感到受欢迎。

Lazarex癌症健康中心是一个以地方为基础、社区为主导、文化上适宜的社区参与模式。我们将模范的公共卫生最佳实践、本地化的混合方法评估和社区投资结合起来。这创造了一个平台,让个人和社区有发言权,获得资源和支持,以便在他们的癌症旅程中更好地驾驭他们的健康和健康结果。我们将居民、社区组织、卫生工作者、政策制定者和其他利益相关者的意见纳入到HUB战略的制定和实施中。HUB正在改变我们对癌症预防的思考方式,以及我们为减少癌症负担和服务不足社区的差异所采取的行动。

HUB不仅仅是一个信息来源--它在社区内发挥着实际的枢纽作用,汇集了管理癌症旅程所需的许多资源和服务,为成功的结果提供最大的机会。最初的费城HUB是一个有砖有瓦的设施,提供当地和文化上适当的资源来回答问题,引导历史上的恐惧、误解和文化障碍,了解家族癌症史的影响和筛查的重要性(癌症的遗传倾向),探索通过生活方式选择预防的方案,并支持病人从治疗到临床试验。

费城癌症健康中心将继续成为新想法和战略的孵化器,以保持该计划的相关性,它提供了一个很好的机会来探索概念的各个方面,看看什么是最有效的。 然而,这种方法的成本过高,限制了我们的扩展机会。 因此,我们正在通过与德雷塞尔大学、南加州大学诺里斯综合癌症中心、加州大学旧金山分校海伦-迪勒家庭综合癌症中心、约翰-穆尔健康中心及其相关社区组织的持续合作,在大洛杉矶和旧金山湾区开发一个更具成本效益的 "弹出式 "癌症健康中心版本。弹出式概念使我们能够利用社区内的现有设施(教堂、学校、基督教青年会、社区中心、卫生诊所等),而不是拥有一个需要大量财政资源来运营和维护的实体设施,并且仍然有持续的、基于地点的、文化上适当的社区参与。 我们将提供相同的方案,并在整个癌症护理过程中进行参与,以改善癌症的健康结果,并解决健康差异。

CWH One Pager

下载 "癌症健康中心 "单页资料

新闻和里程碑。

Menu Close

Lazarex Cancer Wellness HUB

Lazarex Cancer Wellness HUBs, are “safe spaces” for community members to talk about their health concerns in relation to cancer and explore their options from prevention through treatment and clinical trials.
Lazarex Cancer Wellness HUBs

Our learnings from both the CARE and IMPACT programs have revealed the need to create a fully immersive community cancer program that is replicable, sustainable, and affordable – yielding the Lazarex Cancer Wellness HUB concept – what we consider to be the “heartbeat” of our work in this arena. The Cancer Wellness HUBs are a safe space for community members to talk about their health concerns across the continuum of cancer care.  Residents will have the opportunity to develop personal relationships with HUB Cancer Care Companions to overcome historical and cultural barriers for better health outcomes and help them feel welcome in an unfamiliar environment.

The Lazarex Cancer Wellness HUB is a place based, community led, and culturally appropriate model of community engagement. We combine exemplary public health best practices, localized mixed method assessment and community investment. This creates a platform where individuals and communities are given a voice, access to resources, and support to better navigate their health and health outcomes throughout their cancer journey. We incorporate input from residents, community organizations, health practitioners, policy makers, and other stakeholders to inform the development and implementation of HUB strategies. The HUB is changing both the way we think about cancer prevention and the actions we take to reduce cancer burden and disparities in underserved communities.

The HUB is not just an information source – it functions as an actual hub within the community, bringing together the many resources and services required to manage the cancer journey and provide the greatest opportunity for a successful result. The original Philadelphia HUB is a bricks and mortar facility providing a local and culturally appropriate resource to answer questions, navigate historical fears, misperceptions, and cultural barriers, understand the implications of family cancer history and the importance of screenings (hereditary predisposition to cancer), explore options for prevention through lifestyle choices, and support patients from treatment to clinical trials.

The Philadelphia Cancer Wellness HUB will continue to be the incubator of new ideas and strategies to keep the program relevant and it provides a great opportunity to explore various aspects of the concept to see what works best.  However, this approach is cost prohibitive and limits our opportunities for expansion.  Therefore, we are developing  a more cost effective “pop-up” version of the Cancer Wellness HUB in the greater Los Angeles and San Francisco Bay areas through a continued affiliation with Drexel University, USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, and their associated community organizations. Rather than having a physical facility that requires significant financial resources to operate and maintain, the pop-up concept allows us to utilize existing facilities (churches, schools, YMCA, community centers, health clinics, etc.) within the community and still have continuous, place-based, and culturally appropriate community engagement on a consistent basis.  We will offer the same programming and engage across the continuum of cancer care to improve cancer health outcomes and address health disparities.

News & Milestones: